Ten House Republicans voted against Paul Ryan’s budget today, including key liberty movement leaders Justin Amash, Walter Jones, and Thomas Massie. The other nays were Paul Broun, Rick Crawford, Randy Forbes, Chris Gibson, Phil Gingrey, Joe Heck, and David McKinley.

The budget passed the House, but whether it’s really “popular” with anyone is an open question. Ross Douthat called the plan a “step backward,” a judgment seconded by quite a few movement conservatives. Perhaps tellingly, Ryan finished fifth in CPAC’s straw poll last weekend, behind the uninvited and vilified Chris Christie.